W2 graphics

Sobboth

It Wandered In From the Wastes
What are you expecting of wasteland 2 in terms of graphics ?
(I am not talking about a top down or isometric view, just the quality level as a whole).
Did you expect better graphics than in fallout 1/2 ?
My opinion : fallout 1/2 level of quality for graphics is way enough, i would even not to be dissatisfied if they are of lesser quality.

I wouldn't mind 2D graphics, but creating these is actually harder than making 3D models nowadays.
So I think we'll get 3D world and models, moderately detailed with some decent effects.
If they go for Linux and OSX versions, they'll probably use an OpenGL renderer and not DirectX. Hopefully they won't have to cut corners because of that if they decide to write their own engine and renderer.

Thank you for your answer Hassknecth.
2D, 3D is not what is interesting me much, it's more the quality level, the final result you are expecting whatever the style choosen.
Also I fear i'm a terrible noob about graphic technology. 3D world models, moderality detailed with some decent effects mean you expect it to look "nicer" than fallout 1/2 ? (aside any personnal taste for 2D/3D)

Well, we will of course get a better quality, no doubt about that.
Either 2D or 3D, we will have way more details, way more animations, way more variety.
We will have a more varied lighting system with actual shadows and all the good stuff.
It will absolutely look nicer than Fallout 1/2.

Something similiar to Van Buren i imagine.

Google isometric games, you'll sign a high range of visual fidelity in 2d/3d. Fallout Tactics was 2d sprites and looked lovely and a lot better than Fallout 1/2.

Anything close to Fallout's graphics would be nice personally. Anything better than that is fine too.

I'm expecting something that looks nicer than Age of Decadence, but not by a lot.

I'd like the incredibly detailed (prerendered) backgrounds of the Commandos-series.